The Power of the Interwebz?

I like surfing the web. I love seeing some good funny clips, looking at “behind the scenes” sports info, and reading other people’s blogs*. One of my favorite parts of reading anything on the interwebz is the part where other readers can leave a comment. For me reading the comments is pretty fun. I get to see what people were able to gather from what they just read or saw, or how they REALLY feel about a subject.

With the interweb granting commenters anonymity, that whole “”how they REALLY feel” is much more evident. I could just be kinda slow, but it seems to me that there is still an oddly high level of HATE in the U.S. I say “oddly” because many of the hateful comments are things that would not be said in the company of the object of one’s hate. I have been following a few satirical blogs about race.

Here are a few of them:

Stuff White People Like

Stuff Educated Black People Like

Black People Love Us. (it’s not a blog, but the your letters section tells the story)

Amidst the comments of praise, there are comments from people who completely didn’t understand that the large sweeping generalizations are supposed to be satire.

Here’s what satire means: human or individual vices, follies, abuses, or shortcomings are held up to censure by means of ridicule, derision, burlesque, irony, or other methods, ideally with an intent to bring about improvement.

By reading some of the comments, this satire was completely lost on some readers. Satire aside, some of the comments are just plain ignorant and hateful. With the interwebz bringing people from different backgrounds together on many of the same sites, one would think that understanding of an individual apart from their racial stereotype would be much easier. Once again, looking at the comments in any blog about race will tell you otherwise.

I had a direction when I started typing this, but I have gone astray…… Well, I’ll finish with a question for you (yes, you reading this right now).

Have the comments made in any section of a website changed what you thought about a group of people(economic, racial, lifestyle ect…)?

7 Responses to The Power of the Interwebz?

  1. Kevin says:

    Stuff White People Like is fantastic. Reading that reminds me of Homer Simpson watching Def Jam: “It’s true, where so lame!”

  2. Kevin says:

    I mean we’re so lame

  3. carolinahaze says:

    “Black people drive a car like this *budum buddudum bududum budum*, but white people… they drive they car like this *hmmmmhmhmhmmmm*”

  4. carolinahaze says:

    According to Stuff White People Like, how “white” are you?

  5. Kevin says:

    I love The Wire and Arrested Development, love Asian chicks, like wearing vintage t shirts, sushi is good, I led Millbrook Exchange in assists in 93, love Target, microbrews: check, coffee: check, I love to bitch about giant corporations (though I wish I ran one) and I like the idea of soccer (but not as much as you).
    Did we ever figure out what the t shirt you loaned me said? Was it “Young, Gifted and Black” or “Black and Proud”?

  6. carolinahaze says:

    It was “Young, Gifted and Black” and it was Black Snoopy wearing shades. Do you still have that shirt? If I knew where it was, I would rock it. If you find it, you need to rock it. Somebody needs to be wearing it.

  7. Kevin says:

    My parents used to have a bumper sticker that said “Shaggers Do It To Beach Music”

Leave a Reply

